My Thoughts

Discussions about everything, SMR related or not.
LotuS
Beta Tester

My Thoughts

Post by LotuS »

Space Merchant Realms has changed drastically since I started playing it. Alot of things have changed for the good, and some apparently not for the good. I’ve done alot of thinking about why when the game was in the earlier beta stages, continuously plagued with bugs, with lack of finished manual, advanced multi detection, or even organized official rules, could keep so many people addicted through the crap that went down. I looked through some of my own screenshots, and found pictures of 20 people from 1 alliance on CPL, 50-60-or more on CPL total. Now I look at the cpl and see 6 people. What has changed? Where did the fun game go? Do you know? This game flourished because the majority of the players cared about the game and not about what happened on the web board, or who becomes admin. It was less serious because the game was malleable. You were in control more, way more than we are now. You could without much effort, raid a level 1 port for 2 days in your carapace, and go from 180 alignment to -100 and get a death cruiser the following day.