New Layout

Grey Death
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 441
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2002 11:01 pm

Re: New Layout

Post by Grey Death »

Page wrote:
RCK wrote:Why would you start feeling guilty now?
I won't, I said "no longer feel guilty" :P
x2 :lol:
Grey Death
Leader TLS and former War leader KAOS
-A conquered people should know when the are conquered!
Anonymous Roman General
Freon22
Beginner Spam Artist
Posts: 3278
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2002 10:09 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: New Layout

Post by Freon22 »

N.ator wrote:yeah wallbase.cc is seriously the best site for high quality images!

your site currently is broken fueron.

looking forward to see the progression.

(im thinking for one layout.. keep the traditional layout, but just make the outside light green a star background)
Yes N.otorrs I moved it so it would be easier to keep track of. My signatures will show the new link to the layout until it is finished. As far as changing the layout at this point to a traditional layout? No, maybe after this one is done we can look into doing that.

PS: I agree wallbase.cc is a very cool site. :D
Freon22
Beginner Spam Artist
Posts: 3278
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2002 10:09 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: New Layout

Post by Freon22 »

Ok my man came back to work. :D So I am back working on my layout. I put some content in the center area and found that I had locked it so it would not grow. I fix that now I need the right panel to be able to grow and it doesn't :( I will have to fix that.

I have only made two planets so far, I am thinking there should be about five different planets. I still need to make a few space stations to be used as ports and Fed HQs. I also need a black hole to uses as a warp sector. I put the background images in the head so Page can change the image links for the different sectors. It will call for a new column in the database so if sector 1289 is a planet sector he would load the planet1 image, the star background, and the sun1 image. Sector 1376 may call for a planet3 image, star background, and a moon4 image.

I also need a alien settlement to use for when you are parked on a planet. Anyway just wanted to let you guys know I am back at work on the layout.
Jester-
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 1660
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2003 11:29 pm
Location: Indianapolis, IN

Re: New Layout

Post by Jester- »

Freon, can you dig up that cool pink bar SM had when under attack or had a message or whatever? I'd love to see that in action again lol
Image
Image
Freon22
Beginner Spam Artist
Posts: 3278
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2002 10:09 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: New Layout

Post by Freon22 »

Page HELP!!!!!!!

Page I don't know if you can help on this but with your background with java, javascript, and jQuery I think you can. Anyway on Friday I was working on the html for my layout. It got boring and my small mind started to wander and I thought it would be cool that when someone clicked on the Land on Planet link we could have some animation. So I got right to work on it, I thought it would be cool that when they clicked the Land on Planet link that it would zoom into a point of the planet. I found it is easier to think it then to do it. lol

So this is what I did, first I normally put background images in the html part of the page. But I found that when I ran the animation it would give off a flash of white. So I moved the background images to the body you can see the css style in the head of the page.

Since we are going to have about 5 different planets "no point in everyone having the same planet" I used jQuery to grab the url of the background images. I then split them and removed the url from the path. I took the path and inserted a img in the body with the src pointing to the path.

I then faded out the ships control panel and faded in the new image. I set the image width to 1500px with a top -900px, left -850px. No matter what I do when I run the animation the planet zoom in from the top and left at 0px. My idea is to pick a point on the image and zoom into that point. I had thought that maybe the body was allowing this to happen so I set the body overflow to hidden while the animation runs. But still, its not doing what I want it to. Below is the code I wrote, I am calling it smrZoom. If we can make this work it could be used for when a player enters a port or a weapons shop ....

So if you have any idea where I am messing up?????? You can run the animation by clicking the " Click here to test Planet Landing" on the page.

Thanks

Edit: Before you say that everyone would not be using the same browser size. That is on my todo list, after I get this so it will pin point a spot on the image to zoom into I will then set it so it gets the users browser window size and will use that as part of the math.

Code: Select all

jQuery(document).ready(function() {

$('#testPlanetLand').click(function () {
        
    var mybackground = jQuery('body').css('background-image');
        mybackground = mybackground.split(',');
        
        var tempbackground = mybackground[0].replace('url', '').replace('(', '').replace(')', '').replace('"', '').replace('"', '');
        
        mybackground = mybackground[2] + ' repeat left top';
        
        jQuery('body').css({
            'background': mybackground,
            'overflow': 'hidden'
            });        
        
        jQuery('.normal').fadeOut(2000);        
                
        var tempImg = $('<img />');
            tempImg.hide(); //hide image            
            $('body').prepend(tempImg);
            tempImg.attr('id', 'testImage');
            tempImg.attr('src', tempbackground);             
            $('#testImage').stop(true, true);
            tempImg.fadeIn(2000);
            $('#testImage').animate({
                'width': '1500px',
                'top': '-900px',
                'left': '-850px'}, 5000);        
    }); 
});
Harry Krishna
Beta Test Team Leader
Posts: 2621
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: New Layout

Post by Harry Krishna »

Practical playablilty question: How vulnerable is a players' ship in a sector while this landing animation is going? Say for example I'm running shields to defend my planet and I have to pass thru a fleet of 15 ships sitting over the planet...as fast as I can click I enter sector, hit mines, click Current Sector and then click Land on Planet. As I watch the pretty animation waiting for the planet options to appear, are the bad guys collapsing my hull?
that which pods you makes you stronger
Freon22
Beginner Spam Artist
Posts: 3278
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2002 10:09 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: New Layout

Post by Freon22 »

Harry Krishna wrote:are the bad guys collapsing my hull?
Yes!

There would be a call back function so the onPlanet page would not load until the animation ends. But two things to keep in mind, I am not sure if I can make this work the way I want it to. If the bad guys collapsing your hull becomes a issues the script can be set to run faster, or maybe Page can do something to remove your ship from sector when the script starts.

Edit: I was in a hurry when I posted this. I don't think Page could do anything because this is all client side code. The server will not know you clicked anything until the script ends.
Freon22
Beginner Spam Artist
Posts: 3278
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2002 10:09 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: New Layout

Post by Freon22 »

Page thanks but I figured out how to scroll the image.

HK I made the animation a lot faster and I can make it even faster if need be. Check it out now.
RCK
Beginner Spam Artist
Posts: 2686
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 4:09 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: New Layout

Post by RCK »

Looks good, could be closer, but other then that looks good.
Freon22
Beginner Spam Artist
Posts: 3278
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2002 10:09 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: New Layout

Post by Freon22 »

That is not a problem, it can be set as close as you want. :) But tonight I did find a problem, the zoom to a point in the image doesn't work in Firefox or IE9. :( Works good in Chrome! So I have to find out what I need to add, change, or rework so it will work in Firefox and IE9 also. :ugeek:
Post Reply