RedRocket's Map Idea

XDemonX
Newbie Spam Artist

RedRocket's Map Idea

Post by XDemonX »

RedRocket's Idea Just posting for him.

He wants everything randomally placed in the gal. Fed locations, routes, planets, banks. Everything is random with random walls. This is actually interesting i don't think this has been done. Everything is luck of the draw and everyone can fight over everything.

Game name: Everything
Game Speed: 1.5
This is a beat, you just can't touch.....
Holti
Quiet One

Re: RedRocket's Map Idea

Post by Holti »

A long time ago, when Kouga was still teaching me some aspects of the game, there was a game where it was one giant galaxy. He hated it, but I didn't mind it at all. Kouga was a hunter, I was a trader :)
Jester-
Admin Emeritus

Post by Jester- »

I've always like these ideas. My only caveat would be each race would need at least one peace at +500 relations for trading to work early. It would seem there would not be enough routes otherwise.
XDemonX
Newbie Spam Artist

Post by XDemonX »

Think I like about this idea, is this makes everyone play differently than they have played in years. There haven't been a game like this in a long time and I think it will take a different type of strategy than everyone is use to. This could also cater to smaller alliances.

If there is a planet near fed that no one cares about a small alliance could be building that planet while safely being in fed. I don't think people playing from fed should be a problem. But there could be small changes with weapons so alliances are not able to operate fully from fed.
jouldax
Newbie Spam Artist

Post by jouldax »

Let me just post all my concerns that I shared with RR privately:

1. Routes will be entirely dependent on random gen and some races could get shafted early on - Jester's idea might help solve some of these issues, but redoing a massive galaxy full of ports until we get a suitable combination is somewhat of a pain in the ass.