HUNTING 101

Discuss everything strategical about SMR.
darkwing

HUNTING 101

Post by darkwing »

I know there are other hunting strat threads.

But every one of them seems to be filled with whining. And very little on various strats for Hunting.

I am new to SMR and I actually only check out SM for a few days about a year ago (never got the hang of it).

I am interested in learning how to hunt. I got my 20k traded exp and I want to get in my 5 kills before NG6 ends.

So a few ground rules:
-NO WHINING
-Please no posting "false strats". Do not tell me the best way to hunt is to first raid a level 9 port.
-Please commit on strats posted by others. Explain there good points and bad points.
Imhotep
Quiet One

Post by Imhotep »

Holy cow! someone is trying to get out of newbies by the end of NG6! Hooray! :)

There are several ways, you will have to try one or all to see what you like, I will list whatever I can think of:

1. Scouts, scouts, and more scouts. Drop scouts everywhere and find out where people trade, get a bearing on what times they trade, then kill them whilst they are trading.

2. Scouts around major locations and banks. Try and catch someone banking their cash, or arming up a new ship, etc. I would say the bank is a decent place to get kills in newbies. This is especially effective with proper claok useage or IG useage. Who really examines all the 0/1 pods sitting at a bank?

3. Learn to use mines effectively. Trap people in mines then finish the job. This is not really a specific method per se, you can use this around ports or banks or however you want.

4. If you are good with your SMC useage, you can tell where people are trading by the experience they get. Then you do not have to drop scouts, you can just go try and kill them. Sometimes dropping scouts tips people off to the fact that you are hunting. I know vets that use both ways quite effectively. I prefer the no scouts, it makes me stealthy personally.