Keeping New Players

Ask Page...

Moderators: JettJackson, Infinity, Page

Page
SMR Coder

Keeping New Players

Post by Page »

I asked some people I know who have previously tried SMR what changes would most get them play/keep playing. (They used to play TDZK so are not complete newbies, but are the type of people to play browser games and do play others).

#1 was that they didn't like the interface (although were willing to get past it)

#2 was the trade system
The main problem was getting routes, some were able to work out their own (but thought it took way too much effort for what it was) and some weren't (didn't understand the trade system properly). We all use MGU/SMC/LazyTrader for getting routes, but newbies have to rely on people being kind enough to give them routes or install these themselves. Personally I'm sure most won't want to install an entire program just to play a browser based game (it kinda loses the point of it being browser based) and relying on the kindness of most people in this game is generally a bad idea.
Another point was being confused by when they were/weren't safe (although this may be related to TDZK having docking).

To fix these problems here are my suggestions:
#1 A redesigned interface (which i am hoping for but doesn't look too great atm)
#2 Integrate some sort of route finding system into SMR.

Reasons for #2:
To level the playing field so all players have access to the same tools - people shouldn't have an advantage because they have the ability to install some extra program. Some people can't install them due to not having permissions to do so, some simply can't (mac for instance) and some don't want to install some unknown program.