Bargaining+Trading

This is a place for Newbies to get help on anything they're not sure about. Don't be afraid to ask!
Lu Bu

Bargaining+Trading

Post by Lu Bu »

I'm new to this game and i'd just like a know a few things.

First. Is there anyway i can workout how much money to take of or add on when bargaining to find out the max amount of experience i can get from the trade.

Second.I'd like to know if my trade routes are any good. My trade routes
Trade 1:18 turns for £214500 and 51 experience
Trade 2:4 turns for £29300 and 36 experience.

Any help would be nice.
Trib
Beta Test Team Leader

Post by Trib »

Hi, and welcome.

In answer to your first question there is no widely available calculator for getting the perfect prices for trading. The main reason for this is that there is a random element included in the trade formula in the game.

Second question. You have to find a balance between money and experience (XP from now on). Every good at every port as a closest matching good, and it is worked on this distance to calculate the amount of money and XP you gain for a trade.

Your example trade 1, over 18 turns is not the optimum route for that good at that port, in other words another port sells the good that you are trading there closer than the port you bought from.

Your trade 2 looks closer to the optimum, although I cannot tell for sure, as prices vary according to the type of good and the current supply/demand of the port, and the XP varies according to the number of holds your ship currently has.

Now, assuming you are in the starting ship still, the Newbie Merchant Vessel (NMV) and you have bought more holds to have the maximum 120 holds on board, then for every sectors distance from the buying port to the selling port on the optimum route for a given good the most XP you can get for the trade is 10. So for your 4 sector route (trade 2) the most you could have gotten was 40 XP, you got 36 which is pretty close.