For Newbies

Archive of rejected features. All features should have a reason for rejection.
buttsack
Quiet One

For Newbies

Post by buttsack »

As we were having a discussion tonight, the famous topic of "what do we do to help newbies" came up. There are a lot of ideas, and I want to offer one of my own tonight.

What we do to help newbies is a big deal. But, I also started thinking how can we help newbies but also help our coder, so that he has to do the least amount of work possible to integrate a feature we desire.

Gameplay is really not an issue right now. Currently it all seems very balanced, but a lot of the focus is on improving gameplay anyway. That's super and I love it, but I ask we shift our focus to the newbies for a moment and see if we can't work together with Page to get something done on this front.

Now, I'm no coder, and I don't know if exactly what I'm going to offer is going to be easy or not easy to integrate. I humbly ask of Page to offer his thoughts on my idea as well, in that respect.

My idea begins with a brand new player with a fresh "Newbie" status that for the very first time clicks the "Play Game" button. At the very beginning, to get the newbie going, there would be some sort of "tool tips" or "pointers" if you will, offering a paragraph or so of text explaining a certain thing or a button, as well as pointing to the certain thing or button. Clicking "next", or clicking on the button that it is pointing to, would then activate the next pointer. If a newbie wants to re-read an old one, a simple button on the left near the bottom would suffice, perhaps called "Beginner's Pointers". This area could hold from start to finish, every tool tip, similar to how our combat logs are laid out. It would be intriguing if you could click on a few of them and activate them, so that they display to you one by one again like the beginning, except these would be the pointers of your choosing.